Why I Go Overboard for My Kid’s Birthday

Can’t I Just Be an Overachiever??

Kassondra O'Hara
Modern Parent
Published in
4 min readSep 9, 2020

--

Every year during my son’s birthday party, I get mixed comments. From “Oh my gosh! I need your help with my little one’s birthday. You are so creative!” to “Wow, go overboard much? I mean, it’s not like he’s going to remember it anyway.”

The latter tend to not get a return invite the next year. I don’t need more negativity and grumpiness in my life.

The truth is I absolutely do go overboard. Why? Because I can. Because I want to. I am also very creative (toot toot!) and it’s fun. It’s something that I enjoy, I’m good at, and my son loves it. I really don’t need any more reasoning than that, but I’ll share a few anyway.

#1 He’s an Only Child

I wanted more children, but the good Lord blessed us with him and then said, “that’s enough”. I am OK with that. He was our miracle baby and the only grandchild on both sides, so spoiled is an understatement. I feel as though when you only have one child, as much attention as possible should be given to them, not only because you have more time and resources than with multiple children, but because they don’t have…

--

--

Kassondra O'Hara
Modern Parent

Working mom who uses her curiosity to fuel the curiosities of others ~ Writes mostly history and true crime