Gear up for College Guide

Benjamin Lizardo
The Inquisitive Student
6 min readJan 17, 2017

A new semester is starting, and probably you already have most items checked off the list, but if you don’t I’ll give you some tips/examples of what you can bring and need for college. Here is a detailed list of 10+ items I use:

Laptop + Charger/Accessories

This is practically the most important item on the list. Some may say the cellphone is but in my opinion without a laptop (also applies to a desktop or iPad, but preferably a laptop since it is a full portable PC) you won’t be able to do most of your work for college. Weather it be a word document or a power point or an engineering design project with LTspice for example, the laptop gets the job done. It would just be unpractical to do it with a smartphone. This item is a very important investment so try not to buy the first and cheapest laptop you see. In college you will be at least for 4 years so try to invest in a laptop that will give you no problems for that period of time. Since i know pretty much about computers, in my opinion if you want a decent laptop to last at least 4 years you would be looking at a price range of $700+ dollars. I chose the Dell XPS 14 inch 2012 model that retailed for about $1,100 dollars. It is 2017 and runs as good as new! Of course you would not go wrong with a Macbook Pro, but in my case Macs are just not that friendly for Engineering Apps and so I went with a windows Laptop. For the charger I use just the normal charger that came with it.

For other accessories I have what is the most essential one, the USB drive. I have around ten of them laying around my room but the #1 is a 128Gb Samsung 3.0 which also has the micro USB adapter for the android phone which is a nice plus. It has sufficient space for everything and anything i would like to put on it whether it is a project file or photos or even a movie if i download for the time when i get board and have nothing to do and can just play it in my laptop or phone.

Cellphone + Charger AC/DC

For the Cellphone right now I have the Samsung Galaxy S4. I’ve had it for about 4 years. It has served me well and it is still functioning very well but in a few days I should be upgrading to a galaxy S7 edge. for the chargers I use the Aukey brand. Very reliable and fast charging. already equipped with quick charge for the S7. I have a single port wall charger and a 4 port car charger which is awesome if I have some friends in the car we would not have to fight for the USB charger.

Notebook

For note book i currently have the five star flex which has dividers and you just add as many paper as you need for each class. I don’t need to buy a new notebook for each class just refill this one with the amount of paper i need and only carry one notebook not 3 or 4. It has its pros and cons since if you only have 1 class on Mondays for example you would have to carry the whole notebook which might weigh more than one single notebook but it definitely weighs less than carrying 4 individual notebooks if you have 4 classes for one day plus you would not have to be searching which is the notebook for the class your in just take out the only one you have and search for the tab and start writing.

Pens

For pens I prefer black pens and smooth ones. I’m not a fan of a specific pen but lately I have been using TUL pens which are a bit pricey $7.99 for 4 pens but they are pretty nice and reliable. almost never have let me down only once or twice that they have spitted on the paper a bit too much but they are very smooth and the ink is not wasted fast.

Pencils

The pencils I use are drawing pencils for better quality and preferably darker lead for easier reading. I normally use Blackpeps.

Paper

For paper I would use practically any kind of paper that fits in the notebook. I will also carry with white printer paper especially when I am studying for a math or Engineering test in which I have to draw circuits or make long mathematical calculations in which i prefer not to be bothered by the lines of normal writing/notebook paper.

Backpack

I currently have a Solo urban backpack. I bought it because I have had a messenger bag for my laptop a few years and it has been very durable and it has never disappointed me. Therefore this last summer i bought this backpack. has a Nice padded laptop sleeve and it is pretty rain proof which is something good especially since where I attend college rains almost every day.

Water Bottle

I have a vacuum insulated water bottle which is very nice since it keeps my water cool all day long. It is very important to keep yourself hydrated especially when you have to walk around campus a lot and therefore need water so that your brain doesn’t dehydrate which is very bad since that is the part of your body that you will mainly use during the classes during the day, which if you are not careful might lead to headaches.

Calculator

This is very important if you are in science, math, or engineering.I personally have the HP G50 which a professor recommended. Always check you have one of this the day before an exam. One day I left to college thinking I had it in my backpack and had a test. I was running a bit late and got just when the professor was giving out the exams. when I was looking for my pencil eraser and calculator I find out I had left it at home and had to do the test without it. It was an engineering test due in only 50 minutes which means you have to be very efficient with your time specially making math calculations. Therefore a calculator is essential and lets just say I might have gotten less than an A in that test…

Umbrella

As I mentioned before, Where I go to college rains almost every day and you do not want to get wet on during class period since most likely might lead to getting sick and missing class and maybe a test and that is just the worst that can happen during the semester.

Agenda/Calendar

These are very important items to stay organized during the semester. Personally i don’t work well with electronic calendars or agendas, they just don’t work for me, but you can use whichever kind is best for you. I write all the exam dates on the start of the semester and through out the semester I write all the projects, due dates and meetings I might have so I can keep schedule of what and when I have to do it to stay organized and not let thing pile up for the last moment. I have a monthly calendar in which when you open it can see the whole month in the two pages, and also a weekly calendar/agenda which is perfect for giving more details of my weekly events/assignments.

index card/ Sticky Notes

This last one is one I do not use a lot but to some people works very well for studying and for remembering things to do in that same day or week. You can use the index cards to study and make a review for a test, example have a question on each index card and on the back have the answer of it. For the Sticky notes I now of friends who write things to do or ides on them and stick them on their laptops or on their notebook or even the back of their phone. Just have them somewhere you know you will see it to remind yourself of it.

Well I think this it is for now! Comment below if you consider I left something out or liked some of the items I mentioned. Cheers!

Liked this post? Please hit the ❤ button below! Thanks!

--

--

Benjamin Lizardo
The Inquisitive Student

Computer engineering student fascinated for science, nature, and health. I Also love to read and produce creative thoughts and share them with people.