Me Starting Investing and the Stock Market

Benjamin Lizardo
The Inquisitive Student
3 min readJan 9, 2017

For the past few weeks I’ve been interested in what to do to excel and be financially independent. 2 weeks ago I started and finished reading the book “Rich Dad Poor Dad” by Robert Kiyosaki.

The beginning the book was so captivating by the way it was written that I didn’t stop till I finished it. It inspired me to begin doing something so that I can be smart with my money and “not work for money, but for my money to work for money”.

One of the ways he explained in his book was investing in stocks. I’ve for years heard of stocks but never was interested because of my fear of risk in that business, but I have decided to set my emotions aside like the author suggest we do when working with money.

Therefore since last week I’ve been researching on how to invest in stocks. I started to view videos on youtube, reading articles and books.

Other than just informing myself of this business, I started practicing with what it’s called “paper stocks”. It is just the same as real life trading but you do not use real money and therefore you don’t make money out of it. The important part of this is that you get familiar on trading stocks, selling, buying, and how the market reacts to different situations and it is just like if you were trading for real. I’ve been doing this through a website called “How The Market Works”. It is very user-friendly and for what I can see close to real life.

Howthemarketworks.com

After practicing for about a week I started researching on where and how to proceed to the real life action and that’s where I found Robinhood.

Robinhood is a commission free stock trading app for Android and iOS. It is a bit limited since you can only trade stocks for now but for my purposes its enough for now.

Since i just requested an account they are reviewing my profile so after a few weeks when I get to actually use the app and get to know it more in depth I’ll get back and update you guys.

Hope this helps the ones that are curious of this topic, and ever wondering and asking the question on how to start!

Start Investing! Cheers!

Liked this post? Please hit the ❤ button below! Thanks!

--

--

Benjamin Lizardo
The Inquisitive Student

Computer engineering student fascinated for science, nature, and health. I Also love to read and produce creative thoughts and share them with people.