Dreams Are Always Realistic!!!

It’s all about perspective and a positive, optimistic attitude

Laura Annabelle
The Inspirational World
4 min readJan 31, 2018

--

Dreams? Have you had any dreams that at any point in your life where you have achieved them to any degree? How did it go? What were the outcomes? What went wrong? And why?

Have you ever realized if the “S.M.A.R.T. goal actually works as well as our teachers and other advocates say so? What’s wrong with this method? Well to me, I have come to analyze that it’s the “R” in the goal method. Realistic is not something we should ask ourselves before making a plan to put into action to make a reality. Like Deepak Chopra says:

Always go with your passions. Never ask yourself it it’s realistic or not.

For me, I’ve thought about whether my dreams, passions and goals are realistic yet I never pursued them because I somehow was convinced by society that they aren’t. Because I gave into society’s demands, expectations, and standards of who to be, and how I end up living my life. I found myself in that world for years, but I’ve set myself free for about at least 2 years and I’m loving every moment of it. Being free from that world and being in control of how I choose to live my life and who I choose to live this life as.

Anyway, as much as that is, I knew that something that I didn’t like about the “S.M.A.R.T.” goal method which is why I didn’t do so well when it came to using that method with projects, assignments and presentations in school. I see that now, and I’m choosing to follow a better method as explained in: “It Starts With Passion: Do What You Love, Love What You Do”.

If you don’t own it, but it; you’ll benefit from it greatly! And when you do, turn to the chapter of: “S.M.A.R.T. goals don’t work!” on chapter 11, page #59!

And so with what I’ve covered so far, I thought I knew what I needed to when it came to achieving the kinds of things society wanted me to which they labeled to be: realistic versus my actual dreams which they convinced me otherwise that they weren’t realistic. But with enough time, it eventually came to me: I had realized that my dreams are realistic because of this quote:

The best way to predict the future is to create it.

And what I’m saying here with this quote is that whatever society tries to convince is and isn’t realistic in our society, we have more power than we think we do with creating the “new” version of realistic when it comes to our dreams. Dreams are possible no matter what society says or thinks. We all have been there and have into society’s convincing inspiration of what really matters and what’s actually realistic in their point of view.

No need to beat ourselves up (mentally) for those times we gave in, seeing ourselves as weak in a way that we gave up so easily on the things that mattered most to us and were very close to our hearts. But truth speaks that how much we want something to happen, we will commit our lives to making it a reality yet not letting ourselves be pushed back into that “realistic versus unrealistic” of what society has previously got into our heads with.

That we will fight and keep staying strong and standing by the things we believe in (including those people in which we believe in) no matter what risks are involved and how uncomfortable it may feel. Because we know feeling uncomfortable is a sign we are on the right track and are doing the right thing. Who cares what others think, live your life how you want. Live your life for you, not how society wants you to live it.

If you want to live a life of your own, you gotta take risks and that will be scary, but remind yourself of how badly you want to live that kind of life and why along with imagining what that will look like and how you’ll feel when you finally choose to take risks no matter what you’ll have to sacrifice or rather the risks involved in taking.

L.A. is the place where dreams actually come true.

Yeah life may surprise you in both good and bad but it’s the way you view them that counts. Seeing the good in the bad and the great in the good things. As Justin Bieber Inspires:

The most important thing is to look at everything in a positive light.

And I believe we all need to do this more often in our own individual lives! And though it may be hard, know that it will be worthwhile! Just keep imagining the end results, why you’re doing it and how badly you want it and let that be your motivation, yet your guide to being successful in gaining the things you want with your life!

This lifestyle, we chose it. So it’s time we choose to make the best of it!

And yeah we may have the power and control to choose how we get to live our lives but that doesn’t mean we should let society take control. Though it may be possible, it’s also possible to take that power back, to not feel powerless. The tv series, The Arrangment, Megan Morrison makes a great point about the experiences with feeling powerless:

“There are people out there who want to see you fail, and to look at everything that happened in the past few days, and think “oh well look at how much publicity she got.” And all I could say about that is that none of it is worth spending a second of your life feeling powerless. And if there’s anything that this has taught me, it’s that I can choose not to feel powerless. And I’ll never let that happen again.” ~ Megan Morrison, The Arrangement

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Inspirational World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.