Braille Heart

Jessica Niziolek
*The Inspirer
Published in
2 min readJul 31, 2019
https://unsplash.com/photos/tuK70xFknMk

You open the door to your heart to many,

A braille heart is what you get when you expect a tender touch from everyone you show your heart to.

Expectation, a lesson that braille hearts always experience breaks with.

Braille hearts are a rare breed; braille hearts can still welcome anyone in love knowing the risk of a possible birth of either a new crack or break they may get in return.

But for my heart, there is the presence of you and your beautiful, bright, shining love.

By shine, I don’t mean the kind that gives off a glare, leaving you blind to everything around you but leaves you glowing unashamed of your braille heart.

Soon to be smooth again, and open to trusting the love you present me not hidden under a veil of fake intentions, empty promises, and transparent-ill ridden intentions.

A braille heart is what you get when you expect a tender touch from everyone you show your heart to.

Expectation, a lesson that braille hearts always experience breaks with.

Except with you, you’re the exception.

Gone from braille to born again,

You have my whole heart.

I am no longer worried about breaks because of some fool’s neglect.

You have shown unconditional love, and now my braille heart is no more,

My heart is simply mine again, born anew from the genuine love you have shown.

I may have opened the door to many, but you have the key….

Now, you and I are both home.

--

--

Jessica Niziolek
*The Inspirer

Disability advocate, a creative, blogger, podcast host, poet