When We Want to Know the Meaning of Our Sadness

The value of sadness in our search for happiness

Jocelyn Soriano
*The Inspirer

--

Photo by Ratiu Bia on Unsplash

“There is a sacredness in tears. They are not a mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are the messengers of overwhelming grief, of deep contrition and of unspeakable love.” ― Washington Irving

There is a power in sadness that we rarely talk about

We avoid talking about it because quite often, what we desire is the easy, the effortless and the no-sweat solution to our troubles. We just want to be happy. But in desiring to be happy, we have chased all our sadness away, the kind of sadness that can make us happy in the end.

“There are moments when I wish I could roll back the clock and take all the sadness away, but I have the feeling that if I did, the joy would be gone as well.” — Nicholas Sparks

Have you ever experienced wanting to fast forward a movie so you could skip all the sad and painful moments the hero has to go through? There were many times when I wanted to do that but then I knew that doing so would also lessen my satisfaction toward any happy resolution of the story.

--

--