Why I Don’t Feel Guilty For NOT Playing With My Kids

Abbey Fatica
The Instinct
Published in
4 min readOct 15, 2018

--

Photo by Bernard Hermant on Unsplash

For a moment think back to your childhood. What do you remember most about play time? I can see myself riding my bike, splashing in the creek with friends, sitting in my bff’s tree house playing Barbies, making secret clubs in my closet with friends and making up plays with my cousins. These are some killer memories!

Now really think about it, who did you spend most of your time with during play? As an only child, I had to either find friends to play with or spend time with myself. I can rarely place a memory during free play time where my mom was present. There are only a handful of times that she actually sat down and played with me. To this day, I get why she would tell me that she didn’t want to dress Barbies over and over again.

It wasn’t as if she neglected me because I have thousands of memories doing fun things and going places with my mom. There were many game nights and being silly around the house, but as far as playing, NONE!

I Suck At Playing

I can’t be the only parent who lets out a big sigh when the kids ask to play. Play should be fun and it is NOT because kids and parents play completely different. I want to have structure for what we are doing but the kids want a free for all. The plan in my head on how to play is completely different than their…

--

--

Abbey Fatica
The Instinct

Writer, Author, Lover of all words and exclamation points!!! My children are the inspiration to my voice. Connect with me: http://abbeyfatica.com