Even Animal Crossing Can’t Save Me

No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t separate my real self from my game self.

Andie Kanaras
The Interlude

--

Graphic by Josh Magpantay.
Graphic by Josh Magpantay.

The other day, my villager Blaire turned to me and said, “I do hope Lilac Cove life is everything you’d hoped for.” Blaire, a snooty squirrel villager, was the first resident of Lilac Cove to gift me her photo — the ultimate indicator of friendship on Animal Crossing. The moment she uttered those words to me, I felt a sort of kinship that transcended the game. I’m not alone in this thought; many players have shared intimate moments they experienced on their islands, like receiving an almost too on-the-nose note from a villager after a break-up or a gift from “Mom” near the anniversary of a player’s mother’s death.

Blaire just shattering my little heart.

When I created Lilac Cove in June, I expected to manifest a haven, one where I could be myself. The first design I made was a bi flag for my island. I wanted Lilac Cove to be the place I always dreamed of: by the water, where I could dress the way I want and express myself comfortably and exuberantly. Every morning I would make myself an iced coffee (in the real world) and sit outside for 15 minutes to play. The game became my little solace in a period…

--

--