Tune Into The Interlude’s Reality TV Week

What’s better than binge-watching reality TV to distract yourself from actual reality?

Andie Kanaras
The Interlude
2 min readDec 7, 2020

--

Graphic by Maggie Chirdo and Izzie Ramirez.

I’ve always loved reality television. I started letting her into my life when I was sick in Ecuador during my gap year, listening to a podcast about The Bachelor. I’d never even seen the show, but listening to each podcast episode, I could sense the spirit of camaraderie that comes with viewing and discussing the show. It seems as though many other people across the nation are experiencing the first joys of watching a new reality television show. This strange, limbo period draws us to find escape in the silliest of cultural productions and find companionship in message boards online — whether that’s in a Facebook group or a subreddit.

When I first came up with the idea for Reality TV Week, I imagined we’d analyze the shit out of these shows and what it says about us, but as time went on and dread ensued, I recognized that we don’t need to analyze everything. Sometimes, we need to reckon with ourselves and reflect on our own desires, and what fulfills them. A few pieces from this week will grapple with that notion: What finding and enjoying certain programming throughout the last nine months says about them. You will also find fun, ridiculous pieces about our favorite shows and how you can dive into certain fandoms.

Feel free to follow us on Twitter, Instagram, and here on Medium to keep up with our content this week, and everything else we have in store for the months to come. And don’t forget to check back here for links to all of our Reality TV Week stories.

I hope you have a wonderful week, and stay well.

Andie Kanaras, culture editor

--

--