[Part II] Interview with Anggun: On Representing the World

“I am always portraying an Indonesian heritage. In the way I speak, in what I write, I always incorporate Indonesia.”

Woojin Lim
The International Wave

--

Originally published in The Harvard Political Review [April 21, 2020]

Image Credit: Antoine Gouiffes Yan

Anggun is an Indonesian-French singer-songwriter and TV personality who has been performing music since the age of seven. Her first international album, “Snow on the Sahara” (1997), and her six studio albums to follow have throned her as the Asian artist with the highest album sales outside Asia, with gold and platinum album status across Europe and Asia. Anggun first ventured into television when she represented France in the Eurovision Song Contest 2012 with the song “Echo (You and I).” Anggun then appeared as a judge for “Asia’s Got Talent”, the French version of “Masked Singer”, as well as the Indonesian versions of “The X Factor”, “Got Talent”, and “The Voice”. Anggun was invited to serve as a Goodwill Ambassador of the United Nations twice, first for the International Year of Microcredit and then for the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

Woojin Lim (WL): How has your global upbringing shaped your music?

Anggun: I’m originally from Indonesia but I’ve lived in London, Paris, and Montreal. I’m…

--

--

Woojin Lim
The International Wave

art & philosophy-themed columnist always in search of new conversations