The Tech Symposium that Made a Difference

Karen McDonald
The Internet of Women
4 min readMar 5, 2016
Cisco Women private networking dinner

After 20 years of working in the technology sector, nothing was more refreshing than having the opportunity to attend the Information Technology Senior Management Forum (ITSMF) symposium for the first time. The event took place in February. ITSMF was launched two decades ago by a group of black technology executives who wanted to foster the career growth of black professionals.

As a black woman working in the technology sector it’s not unusual to walk into a room and be the only woman or person of color. I have a plethora of stories to share. From the 6’5 director that tried to intimidate me by closing his door and standing over me shouting, “You listen to me little lady….” To the director that said, “Everyone knows the next step for you is management, just not this management position. So keep doing what you are doing…” or the manager who was transparent and apologetic when he said “…You know this was supposed to be your job right? But since they gave it to me, I am going to look out for you….”

Networking with ITSMF members

The candid conversation with those in attendance at the symposium was truly a highlight for me. It afforded me the opportunity to bond with people who understood my struggle. There were never ending stories, the ones we often keep to ourselves. For once I was able to let go and realize I was no longer on an island alone; instead I was surrounded by people that felt my pain, individuals who have cried the same tears, and fought the same battles. Individuals fighting to get to the C-suite in hopes of raising the percentage of black executives above the 2% that exist today. I met other women who worked hard to find a mentor and trusted advocate who would fight for them behind closed doors. For once, I was surrounded by a group of individuals that understood the color of my skin, or the fact that I am a woman, doesn’t mean my job performance will be any less than anyone else.

Fortunately for me, the company I work for was a sponsor of the event, which afforded us the opportunity to host a private networking dinner. In attendance at our private dinner were several white male executives that took the time to hear transparent feedback from the attendees, and also share their viewpoints. The dialogue was so powerful that no one wanted the evening to end. That proved to me there is hope, as the executives were open to finding out what they could do to influence their peers in moving the diversity needle.

The greatest point about the opportunity to participate in the very powerful ITSMF symposium was the fact that my life will be forever changed. You see, prior to the event I actually considered leaving the technology sector all together. I was raised to believe I could be anything I wanted to be and do anything I wanted to do. After being passed over for positions that I was obviously more qualified for than the candidate of choice time and time again, caused me to have second thoughts about my aspirations to climb the corporate ladder. I realize now that I can’t give up, I must pave the way for other minority women to prove that we too can aspire to the C-suite.

I realize there are many young girls that don’t have role models in STEM careers. Many of them don’t have parents to push them either. Fortunately for me, that was not my story. Both of my parents were successful college graduates in the education field. My father taught high school math and my mother has a master’s degree and taught elementary education. My siblings and I were encouraged to pursue our dreams. My sister, who is 11 years older than me, graduated with a chemistry degree. She later pursued her masters in Information Technology and entered into the technology sector. Both my mother and sister served as my role models, helping me define a clear path for my future.

I am determined now more than ever to be successful in my field. The ITSMF Symposium has given me a level of gratitude for the trials and tribulations of my past and has shown me how to leverage them to propel me into my future. I’m reaching for the moon, and even if I fall short, I’ll still be among the stars.

More of Karen’s story will be featured in the upcoming book, “The Internet of Women, Why It Matters”

--

--

Karen McDonald
The Internet of Women

Girls can be GEEKS too! :-) Professional in the IT industry, and champion for women and girls in STEM.