Finding Worthwhile Investment Ideas

Anouk Uragoda
Investor’s Handbook
2 min readNov 14, 2022

You want to invest your money to create long-term wealth.

But you do not know where to begin.

Does this situation feel familiar to you?

Do not fret. I have you covered.

Here are 4 places I look for both passive and active investment ideas.

Let’s begin.

Unsure of where to invest your money? I have detailed 4 places out below.
  1. FinTwit: This is otherwise known as Financial Twitter. There are loads of brilliant people on this site, and with that brilliance comes insightful content. I predominantly follow microcap investors because that is the area I want to focus on, but you could find a community for whatever investing strategy you want to tinker with. When you’re on the site for long enough, you will find a few people whose content you truly gravitate towards. Make sure to turn on post notifications, so you don’t miss any of their posts.
  2. Podcasts: This might surprise a few people, but podcasts are another go to. There is literally a podcast for every single investing topic… similar to Twitter in that regard. The other day I found a good one on Trend Following, another on Swing Trading, and another on Microcap Investing. The list goes on and on. However, there are a few issues with this approach. First of all, it is not easy figuring out what to listen to. I briefly listen to least 5 episodes before I pick one I want to listen to completely. And then the second issue is patience. Listening to an episode in one shot is not easy. My advice? Put the episode on 1.5 times the normal speed. Feel free to pause to take notes.
  3. SEC Filings: I’ve heard of numerous investors perusing SEC filings to find investment opportunities. As laborious as this sounds, it works. You have to be willing to get your hands dirty if you want to succeed in this difficult game called investing. With this endeavor, our goal should be to discover these hidden gems so we can maximize our alpha. Just so you know, this is more of an active approach, but I genuinely think every investor should allocate a certain % of their portfolio to individual equities. How much risk you are willing to take will dictate this percentage.
  4. Socialize: Some of your best finds might be through networking. Find investing events. Go for them. Talk to interesting people. Discuss ideas. Broaden your horizons. You never know who or what you might stumble across. I recently learned about a professional investor who met the CEO of a company playing golf. That company happened to be Constellation Software, a Canadian software conglomerate, and this company became one of the investor’s major successes.

It is funny how life works sometimes. You literally do not know where you will hear about your next idea. Stay curious!

--

--

Anouk Uragoda
Investor’s Handbook

I help you grow and preserve your wealth - financial, emotional, and physical. Sharing what I learn through my experiences and learnings. Follow to learn more.