Which problems do small businesses have?

Moussa Mazouzi
Investor’s Handbook
2 min readJan 24, 2023

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I have been remotely coaching an engineering firm for a couple of months now.

They’re overwhelmed with work and can’t seem to find ways to improve the bottom line.

At first it wasn’t evident why the company was struggling with productivity and high employee turnover.

That was until yesterday when I had the opportunity to personally visit them. As soon as I walked into their office, it became evident that their working environment was depressed and lacking energy.

I kindly asked the owner to allow me to talk to his team privately.

These are some of the things I wrote down:

  • “Sharing my opinion is worthless.”
  • “I could easily do this more efficiently, but I MUST follow this process.”
  • “I’m not trusted with my job.”
  • “I don’t feel appreciated.”
  • “We all lack motivation.”
  • “This is how management wants it done.”
  • “I can’t do that.”
  • “I must meet expectations, or else…”
  • “It’s not my fault, that’s how they want it done.”
  • “This is a stressful workplace.”
Photo by Dan Burton on Unsplash

Now to answer your question, which problems do small businesses have?

Most small business owners struggle to develop their skills to delegate effectively. This massively hampers their growth potential.

--

--

Moussa Mazouzi
Investor’s Handbook

Empower your work & life Learn how psychology impacts productivity & creativity Tips, insights & life lessons on freelancing, working from home & more. Join us!