THE ISOLATION DIARIES — PART SIX

K A T A
The Isolation Diaries
4 min readJun 7, 2020

MERRI CREEK MATTERS / A CONVERSATION WITH BRONWYN

I guess what motivates me to do these clean ups is my love of the natural world…

What suburb do you live in and how long have you lived in this suburb?
I have lived in Thornbury since 1989, my partner and I bought into the area when it was affordable compared to Northcote and more inner suburbs. After moving here we realised how lucky we were to be in such a friendly community close to public transport and close to the beautiful Merri Creek. Over the years we have loved seeing the opening of many cafes and young families moving into the area.

How long have you been coming to the Merri Creek?
I have been coming down to the creek pretty soon after moving into the area. Over the years I have ridden my bike to work along the bike path and walked along the path for exercise and pleasure.
I have sometimes been down there 4 or 5 times a week and other times only once or twice.

How has your life changed since the beginning of isolation?
Although shocked and upset by the terrible death toll Covid has taken especially in other countries, I have been able to slow right down in isolation from a busy life of minding grandkids, taking my elderly mother out from her nursing home and activist work. Suddenly I had a lot of time on my hands… longer walks, along the Merri, Edgar’s Creek and the Yarra, reading, writing emails to politicians.

What have you liked about isolation?
I [also] think the upside of this time has been the reduction in carbon emissions and I so hope things don’t just bounce back to business as usual - back to the road to catastrophic climate change. Maybe enough people have taken stock and things will change but I’m not holding my breath.

What have you disliked about isolation?
I have really missed close contact with the grandkids. We are starting to see them more now which is great, they grow up so quickly.

What is something new you have learnt during isolation?
I am starting to educate myself about the history of Wurundjeri people, the first inhabitants of Melbourne and this area.

You mentioned you were in your retirement, what was your occupation before you retired?
I scaled back work and have now retired from teaching English to speakers of other languages.

What are you hobbies/interests?
My favourite thing to do is walking in the bush, forest, along the coast, any natural environment… Oh, and cooking of course, we eat too well!

Why have you taken an interest in picking up rubbish at Merri Creek, what motivated you?
It is impossible not to notice how much rubbish collects in and around the creek and over the years I have participated in clean up days but they don’t come around often enough and I guess I just started taking a plastic bag with me on my walks and began picking up a small bag or two on my walks…

Now that I have a bit more time, I take down bigger bags and spend longer cleaning up rubbish. It is very satisfying seeing the before and after — I can get a bit obsessive/compulsive!

Sometimes I get to walk around my area, the circuit between Normanby Avenue and Moreland Road, the swing bridge and up to Bell St sometimes and only have to pick up a small amount of litter. So lovely. However after substantial rain my work starts all over again, so lately there’s been a lot of work to do.

Why is this a passion of yours?
I guess what motivates me to do these clean ups is my love of the natural world.

What is your age? I am 67. I have 2 kids and three grandkids!

If you could offer any advice to people who are struggling at the moment, with isolation or anything else, what would it be?
That’s hard to answer as people’s circumstances are so different but getting out in nature helps me a lot and doing something to benefit your community, not just yourself.
Answering these questions has helped me reflect on things, which is so important. Thank you.

--

--