Introducing Some New Plant Possibilities For Your House

Öykü İnce
The Istanbul Chronicle
4 min readApr 29, 2022

We all have at least one plant in our house at the moment. It is either on a desk or close to a window. We mostly forget to water it or give it the care it needs, especially when we are younger. We would ask our parents to buy us a little cute plant we see in a shop, promising we will take care of it. Of course, at the beginning with the temporary enthusiasm, we give it the care it needs. A great example is the “grass head”. A grass head is a head-shaped mixture that includes grass seeds. When we saw the growth of the grass which is only a few inches, it was more than enough. We were happy in the beginning, yet, later on, we forgot about it. Maybe, that’s why you have plants that do not need water as much as other plants such as cacti, aloe vera, snake plants, and spider plants… I had the same thoughts ( not giving enough attention to the plants that I have bought ). But during the pandemic, I got more engaged with plants. I started to visit the greenhouses with my mother. On my first visit, I bought a monstera plant -the classic indoor plant that is all over the social media feeds. On my second visit, I bought a UFO plant, as known as the Chinese money plant. Then I bought a jade plant, as known as the lucky plant or the money tree since it is well known for the luck it brings. And recently, I bought a bonsai tree and an areca palm! In this article, I want to give you a few tips about these plants that I am taking care of. Hopefully, you will end up thinking about having one in your house too.

With the Order, Plants We Will Learn More About:

  • UFO Plant (Chinese Money Plant)
  • Bonsai Tree
  • Areca Palm

UFO Plant

UFO Plant is my favorite. It looks better every day because, with the growth of its body, it starts to look like a tree. But it needs care. You should water it quite a few times a week. Especially if it is summer. Also, a warm environment is needed. That’s why you should not put a UFO plant on your balcony; I used to leave it on our balcony but I learned my lesson. As I have mentioned before, it is also called a Chinese money plant. The reason behind it is that they believe this plant’s round-shaped leaves increase the owner’s wealth; that it will help the owner and prevent them from getting exhausted.

UFO Plant

Bonsai Tree

Everyone knows the bonsai tree. In most supermarkets, there are small bonsai trees for sale. As you might have heard, bonsai trees are hard to take care of. Especially, if you have a seed and want to see the results in a short time. You should be patient with bonsai trees. They say it brings you the relaxation and balance you need. I did not have enough patience to grow one from a seed. That’s why I have always wanted to get a huge one. My mother asked a florist about how to take care of a bonsai tree and I will now tell you their best tips. To start with, place your bonsai somewhere warm. A warm environment will help to reach its maximum capacity growth-wise. Lighting is important as well. It should benefit from the sunlight, but there should not be direct heat. Also, you should water your bonsai once a week.

Bonsai Trees

Areca Palm

Palm trees are gorgeous. I love all kinds of palms.

To be honest, I have waited for a long time to have my areca palm. I tried to grow one myself from a branch but I was not successful. One of the reasons that I was not successful was my cat. He would eat the plant. He still tries to eat the areca palm that’s why we changed the position of it. If you have a cat, be careful. That’s my first tip. Note it! Areca is not a hard indoor plant to care for. The environment should be warm and you should water it often. The soil needs to be moist but slightly. The most important part is that you should avoid direct sunlight for your areca. If you take care of your areca, it would give you the endless summer feeling. Plus, it purifies the air.

Areca Palm

Hopefully, you have one and will bring it to your house to take care of it.

Post-script: If you have any plant suggestions for me, please comment.

Works Cited

Areca Palm. www.plantz.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Areca-palm-14-in-stone-square-planter-e1588782847714.jpg. Accessed 24 Apr. 2022.

Bonsai Trees. Zupan’s Markets, www.zupans.com/ginseng-ficus-bonsai/. Accessed 24 Apr. 2022.

UFO Plant. thatplantylife.com/how-to-propagate-a-pilea-peperomioides/. Accessed 24 Apr. 2022.

--

--