What have I watched recently and would recommend to you?: Animation Movies

Öykü İnce
The Istanbul Chronicle
6 min readMar 31, 2022

Are you looking for movie recommendations? I indeed am looking. I just did not find a good recent recommendation list of movies. We all need a good movie recommendation list. That’s why I felt the urge to write this article. With this article, I will tell you what I have watched recently and recommend you. For the last couple of months, when I was looking for a movie to watch, I mostly ended up choosing an animation movie. And I am not complaining about it. I am here for an animation movie! If you would ask me, animation movies are a safe option when you want to watch something. I believe everybody had one specific animation movie that they would watch over and over again. They had the bedspread, figures, pillows, notebooks, or anything about this one specific animation movie. At least, I had. I used to be obsessed with The Smurfs. I still have the bedspread of The Smurfs. I just can not use it anymore because I have a double bed. The bedspread does not fit. And that’s why animation movies are a safe option! You know that they will bring your childhood. No matter what you watch, you will travel in time. The happiness that will come after watching an animation movie will be priceless.

Even though I am interested in cinematography and took a few classes, I would not consider myself a cinephile. I just love to watch movies. I am not a critic and I don’t know enough about cinematography to become one. At least, for now. So what I will say about the animation movies that I’ve watched is just my taste and thoughts.

Beforehand, I want to indicate that all of the movies that I’ll mention made me cry. But I might say that I am a person who cries easily watching movies. I get very emotional watching animation movies.

The Animation Movies That We Will Talk About:

  • The Boss Baby: Family Business
  • Turning Red
  • Luca
  • The Mitchells vs. the Machines

The Boss Baby: Family Business (2020) — Comedy/Family

Last weekend, I watched The Boss Baby: Family Business. I was not aware of the release of the second movie. I have watched the Boss Baby: Back in Business on Netflix. Also, I have watched the first movie. If you have not watched the series, it is a must. I did not want to see the final of the series. It was heartbreaking for me to let go of the Boss Baby. So when I saw the second film, I was excited. I believe Boss Baby will never disappoint me! Every time I see something related to Boss Baby, it is funny. But at the same time, it makes me cry at the end. Because I do not want to spoil it for you, I will not say the ending. But it is very good, I can promise you that. In this second movie, we see that Boss Baby and Tim have grown up. Tim has two daughters! He has his own family. His younger daughter is the new boss baby! What happens to our Boss Baby? He, Ted, is a very successful businessman as you might have guessed. Baby Corp comes across a crisis and Tim’s daughter has an idea. To learn the rest, you should watch it.

The movie is 1 hour and 47 minutes long, but it is entertaining. You lose control of time. Time goes by and you just do not understand. You mainly laugh. :)

I’ve read online if there will be a 3rd movie of the series, the release of it might take up to 2024 or even 2026. If there will be one more, I hope it will focus more on Ted.

“The Boss Baby: Back In Business”

Turning Red (2022) — Comedy/Family

Another animation movie that I watched last weekend is Turning Red. Turning Red is a popular animation movie at the moment. I was watching a YouTube channel that I loved called Inga Lam. Inga recreated the congee from Turning Red and at that moment I decided to watch the movie. The congee looked delicious! You can check out Inga’s recipe through this link.

What is Turning Red about? Turning Red is a story of a teenage girl Mei. She has a legacy thanks to her mother’s, Ming’s, side. She can transform into a red panda. I feel like if I say anything more detailed, it will be a spoiler. But the plot is mainly about her transformation and her relationship with her mother and friends. The movie processes the mother-daughter relationship beautifully. It also shows the perspective of a teenager somehow accurately. If you want to spend time with your mother, this might be the movie you would like to watch.

Turning Red has a similar duration with The Boss Baby: Family Business, 1 hour and 40 minutes long. Yet again, you just do not realize how the time went by. Also, it is a Pixar movie. If you are a fan of Pixar, that is a plus. The Pixar quality is there! :)

“Turning Red”

Luca (2021) — Fantasy/Adventure

Luca was on my list for a long time. But I just kept procrastinating. Like many of you, I am a procrastinator. I finally watched it two weeks ago. I was hugging my blanket on my bed and wanting to satisfy my starvation for a movie. And it was what I needed! Luca is a sea monster who can transform into a human when he is dry. Luca is afraid of becoming a human until he meets with Alberto. Soon they become best friends and dream of having a Vespa together. In addition, they make another friend which you have to see the movie to learn. The movie is mainly about being different, belonging, dreaming, and setting goals. It shows the importance of friendships as well.

Luca is an approximately 1 and a half-hour long movie. I think we can accept it as a shortish movie. Also, it is the perfect combination of Pixar and Disney. How can a Pixar and Disney collaboration upset you? No, never!

Before moving on to the next movie, I would like to share a fun fact with you. I’ve read an article that mentions the creative team has considered Alberto and Luca having a romantic relationship. You can read the article through this link.

“Luca”

The Mitchells vs. the Machines (2021) — Comedy/Adventure

I watched this movie with my family. Let me tell you this movie is humorous. As you can guess from the title movie is about a family’s fight against machines. Mitchells is humanity’s last chance of survival against machines.

Mitchells is a realistic and funny family. They are relatable. Especially, the father-daughter relationship will be relatable for most fathers and daughters.

Also, this is an LGBTQ+ movie. I was talking about this movie with a friend of mine and he told me Katie, the main character, is a lesbian. I searched it and it is true. She is a lesbian but the movie doesn’t give many signals about it. I learned that the person who voices Katie is a bisexual.

This is the longest movie on the list. It is nearly 2 hours long, 1 hour and 54 minutes. Like other movies, it does not bore you in any seconds.

“The Mitchells vs. the Machines”

I watched more than these four movies recently. But since it’d be too long, I kept it short for you. Stay tuned for a second part. I hope you’ll enjoy watching these recommendations of mine.

Works Cited

“The Boss Baby: Back In Business.” IMDB, www.imdb.com/title/tt7741824/. Accessed 27 Mar. 2022.

“Luca.” IMDB, www.imdb.com/title/tt12801262/. Accessed 27 Mar. 2022.

“The Mitchells vs. the Machines.” Geekyapar!, geekyapar.com/film/bilim-kurgu-gorunumlu-aile-filmi-the-mitchells-vs-the-machines-spoilersiz-inceleme/. Accessed 27 Mar. 2022.

“The Mitchells vs. the Machines.” Geekyapar!, geekyapar.com/film/bilim-kurgu-gorunumlu-aile-filmi-the-mitchells-vs-the-machines-spoilersiz-inceleme/. Accessed 27 Mar. 2022.

“Turning Red.” Disney, movies.disney.com/turning-red. Accessed 27 Mar. 2022.

--

--