How to save someone’s life (or just get them into therapy)

Jake Orlowitz
The J Curve
Published in
6 min readFeb 1, 2019

--

Please support the full book *Welcome to the Circle*. Now live on Kickstarter: bit.ly/CircleKickstarter

Part 1 of a series. View Part 2 and Part 3.

I was involuntarily hospitalized for anxiety and ‘mood weirdness’ eight years ago. I had refused every opportunity to help me up to that point. But once I was trapped in a facility for 2 weeks, I decided to try some new things. Since then I’ve had a weird but satisfying run of, ironically, helping other people get into therapy. I have some tips in case you ever encounter this situation. There are no guarantees, but it may make a difference.

STEP 1: Let people come to you.

  • Why will they do this? They will come to you more if you have successes but don’t hide behind them, if you share your struggles, show that weaknesses are human, and believe that we’re inherently worthy but also capable of growing. Hint: this is also a good way to live freer and happier yourself.
  • If someone doesn’t come to you but you are concerned, lightly reach out and ask them how they are doing. If they don’t bring up an issue with you, they’re probably not ready. If you do think it’s important to bring it up, do so as non-confrontationally as possible: “I really don’t mean to pry but I was wondering if you were having a hard…

--

--

Jake Orlowitz
The J Curve

Internet citizen. Founder of The Wikipedia Library. Seeker of well people and sane societies. Read my book: welcometothecircle.net