$1130 hoodie vs. $59 hoodie

Hyun Jung
The J Word
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2020

A fair amount of designer brands are jumping into the hoodie game. As more and more people are looking to cop themselves some designer hoodies, I’m here to give my own opinions and share my experience with them.

The designer hoodie that I bought was from Valentino. It was part of the Valentino x Undercover collaboration, which featured Edgar Allan Poe prints, space motifs, and other dark themes.

Here are some of their looks from Fall 2019 Menswear:

Knitwear featuring Beethoven Print
Coat featuring Edgar Allan Poe Print
Oversized hoodie featuring Edgar Allan Poe Print

When I found out about this piece, it was almost too late for me to buy it. A runway streetwear piece is always highly sought after, and resell prices were too high. Thankfully, I was able to locate and purchase one of the last four pieces remaining in Asia.

Me

The reason I bought this hoodie was because I fell in love with the design. Recently, Valentino has just been printing big logos onto their ready-to-wear collection. Personally, I wanted to invest money into designs that stood out, rather than pieces that just screamed the brand name.

The quality is certainly impressive. The print doesn’t wear off, the material doesn’t pill up like other hoodies would, and it is very comfortable.

Receipt Card
Back of the hoodie

With a modest print of ‘Valentino Undercover’ at the back, the centerpiece of the clothing is the design in front, rather than the logo or the brand name.

Given the unique design and superb quality, is $1130 worth it? Absolutely fucking not. Definitely not worth it. The thing is, a good fraction of the cost also goes to the reputation associated with Valentino and its recognition as a historical and successful brand. In that sense, for me at least, it holds some value.

My $59 dollar hoodie is a Nike Jordan Air hoodie that I got a couple of weeks ago. The quality is amazing, the design is clean, and it’s made from good material. I know I’ll wear it for years to come.

Love this one!

Obviously a hoodie from any designer brand will have better quality than a hoodie from H&M or ZARA.

But if you are thinking of getting designer clothing, make sure you really want it. Unless you’re crazy rich, you don’t want to be spending this much money on things you don’t really want.

Apart from the price that’s on the receipt, the real value of a clothing will ultimately be up to you. If you think it’s worth it, it is.

*No copyright infringement is intended for images

--

--