Travel Series: Beach or Mountains?

TheJarredShow
The Jarred Show
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2020

It’s the age old question… where would you rather live… up in the mountains or down at the beach?

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

I grew up in the woods of the North Eastern United States. During the summer I would visit my dad down south. We would always take a trip to the beach and that’s where I got exposed to beach life or “salt life” as it’s called. There are other places to live of coarse. The middle of the country being one of them. I’ve traveled across the United States quite a few times and I seem to always come back to the idea that it’s really a decision between just the two… Mountains or beach?

Where I grew up, there was plenty to do if your the outdoorsy type (and i am). Hiking, mountain biking, fishing, sports, camping, lakes for water activities. Quite a few choices. I choose just about everyone of those and even made up a few of my own (building tree houses comes to mind).

Photo by Simon Migaj from Pexels

The mountains has a certain allure to them. Like a soft, clear voice whispering to come take a look. The mountains can be majestic and can help clear the mind as well as cleanse the soul. I loved growing up in the country, in the woods and mountains. But once I got to the beach… I never really left.

Have you ever been to the beach as a teenager? It’s amazing. Sun, surf, sand and girls. As a little kid it can be fun if you have the right tools. Think sand castles and boogie boards. As a teenager its a different experience. It’s not just all about the girls though. It’s the waves. The sea. The feeling of salt water and the ocean moving around you uncontrollably. It’s intoxicating. Not to mention the beauty of it all (again, not just the beach bods;). A beautiful sunrise over the ocean is absolutely breath taking. Besides the babes and beauty there is the fun. Jet skis and boats. Deep sea fishing and sailing. Wake boarding or skiing. Parasailing (the one where you are waaaay up in the air behind the boat) and windsurfing. My favorite is wake boarding (even though I haven’t done it in years).

The beach is fun. The beach is hot. And I like hot. It’s a realization I’ve come to in my life. I like hot. Not just mild temperatures but hot. Sitting there not moving and feeling sweat dripping off you because your outside… hot. Knowing this is how I figured out a solution to the age old question… Beach or Mountains? The answer is…

Photo by Flo Dahm from Pexels

Both. On an Island. Yep. I want to live in a place that has the best of both worlds. A mountain in the middle and at the edge, pure beautiful sandy beaches.

I’ve never been to a proper Island like Hawaii or Fiji but I’m willing to give it a try. One day, God-willing. That’s where I’d like to live. At least for a little while. It could happen. And just remember… the next time you hear that age old question…. beach or mountains… Think for a second and reply… Island.

So what do YOU think?

Beach, Mountains, Great Plains… Island?

What’s YOUR favorite and why? Leave a comment or write an article and publish it! I’d love to read it!

thanks for reading and as always, May God Bless You.

--

--

TheJarredShow
The Jarred Show

Play Basketball, Talk politics/philosophy, Live religiously. I like to talk about almost any subject But sports and religion are my fav. Stay tuned for more…