Costa Rica [01]

Kevin Yao
The Jelly Tank
Published in
6 min readMay 29, 2015

December 12 - December 17, 2014

Foreword — I learned English from nature books. The first time I stepped into a public library after moving to the United States, I fell in love with the nature section. The photographs of lush jungles and exotic animals overwhelmed me and I found myself spellbound by evolution and biodiversity. Therefore, I have always had a special place in my heart for Costa Rica, a country consisting of a staggering 5% of the world’s biodiversity. After researching for the trip and happening upon a remote destination called the Osa Peninsula, I just had to pack my bags and visit

“the most biologically intense place on Earth”.

Day 1. Bosque del Cabo

Our journey started at Bosque del Cabo, an ecolodge located on the tip of the Osa Peninsula. My girlfriend and I flew into San Jose and then to Puerto Jimenez, where we were greeted by our friendly driver from the lodge. It took us 45 minutes on a very, very, bumpy road to reach the lodge. As unpleasant as that sounds, the scenic route did keep us busy. Once we arrived, we had lunch and quickly settled down in our cabin before venturing into the wilderness around us. The first trail we tackled was the very short Creek Trail.

To reach our cabin, we had to tread this suspension bridge.
This lizard stood so still, I took a long exposure on my tripod and caught its heartbeat in motion

As excited as I was about finally being surrounded by nature, we retreated back to our cabin for the remainder of the day to catch up on sleep. That night, we fully immersed ourselves within the sounds of the rainforest.

Chloronia sp. flew into our cabin, either attracted to our light or seeking shelter from the rain

Day 2. Zapatero Trail, Pacific Beach Trail

There was a storm the night before — the largest they have had in more than ten years. We were in a rainforest. We were in a cabin with one side completely exposed to the forest. Needless to say, we heard the true force of nature, a ragtag band of birds, monkeys, insects, and frogs competing against the fury of nature. A night I will never forget.

In the morning, we took on the Zapatero trail. It was definitely very refreshing, albeit a little damp.

Left: Fireworks! Some unidentified true bug. Middle: Hair-streak butterfly. Right: Katydid nymph, perfect camouflage
Left: Capuchin monkey from behind our cabin. Right: Spider monkey from the suspension bridge.

In the afternoon, we descended the cliff-side by way of the Pacific Trail. It was quite a steep descent and we dreaded the climb back up, but for now, we enjoyed the beach.

Scarlet macaws are frequent sights on the beach. We were lucky to see a family. Doesn’t the picture remind you of a triforce?

Prior to sunset, I ventured out to a small fall.

Day 3. Golfo Dulce Trail

Talk to the employees before this trail. They will recommend you to pack lunch to-go and also give you the directions to a beautiful waterfall.

Callipogon lemoinei. Starting my morning right shooting this 5 incher.
Left: The beaches on the gulf-side were much more mellow compared to those on the Pacific side. Right: Ghost crab
The aforementioned fall. Jump right in!

Come nightfall, the forest wakes. Head-lamping is a must here.

Day 4. Titi Trail and Pacific Trail (Revisited)

In the morning, we went on the Titi trail and around the main lodge area to catch sight of more wildlife.

Left: Itty bitty dung beetle on an itty bitty ball. Right: Coati, a common sight.
Left: Tiger beetle! My favorite. Right: Toucan. Some trees had as many as ten.

Oh. Did I mention the food here is delicious?

After lunch, we headed back to the Pacific Trail to find yet another waterfall and to catch the sunset on the beach.

Left: Into the heart of darkness. Right: Following the water source.
The waterfall at the end. You can walk right under it.
Golden hour back at the beach.
Sunset photos. Am I doing this right? I have no idea.

Before we tucked in for the night, some more head-lamping…

Left: Vinegaroon. Right: Red-eyed tree frog on suspension bridge

Day 5. Bye Bye Bosque

Sad to leave, but we were pretty much hiking non-stop and could use a little rest. On the way to our final meal, I was finally able to get a clear shot of the elusive green and black poison dart frog I’ve tried to shoot multiple times on the path to our cabin. Talk about leaving on a high note.

Dendrobates auratus

Thank you Bosque del Cabo!
This is the end of part I. I urge you check out part II.

Enjoyed this post? Follow me @kzmeyao
Copyright 2014. Photos taken by Kevin Yao. All rights reserved.

--

--