FATMAP & The North Face Present: How To with Xavier De Le Rue

Matthew Doyle
The Journal by FATMAP
2 min readJan 22, 2018

At FATMAP, our mission has always been to make it easier for people to find better, safer adventures in the outdoors.

That’s why we’re so excited to partner with outdoor pioneer Xavier De Le Rue and The North Face to provide the How To series to help you get the most of your time outdoors.

We’ve loved working with Xav to make FATMAP and we hope this series will help you crush it out in the field.

For the next ten weeks, we’ll follow Xav as he shares his 20 years of experience as a professional rider and shows you some of the lesser know nuances of the freeride world.

I hope that I will spark passion in others, that I will encourage people to get out in the mountains, maybe take their first tour or ride some ice! But most of all I want the series to be fun, I don’t want to give people a lecture, I also don’t want to say that my way is the only way, I want to open doors, give people tricks and tips and help them to discover all the joy that I have been lucky enough to have through snowboarding. — Xav

Heres a quick sneak peak of the upcoming month.

Episode 1 / Wednesday 24th January / How to drop cliffs

Episode 2 / Wednesday 31st January / How to Scope a line

Episode 3 / Wednesday 7th February / How to Straight-line

Episode 4 / Wednesday 14th February / How to Splitboard

Stay tuned for our first episode this week, as Xav shows you his approach do dropping big airs and hucks while staying safe and stylish.

--

--