Issue 2

Kevin Rose
The Journal by Kevin Rose
4 min readApr 9, 2016

Welcome to a preview issue of The Journal. To get the latest issue delivered to your inbox, once a month, sign up for the newsletter here.

Welcome back, friends. Big news for this issue, I’m excited to announce “The Journal Podcast,” a monthly audio podcast I’ve created to accompany this newsletter (links below). Each episode will feature an in-depth interview with folks doing exception work in their domain. Future episodes will include interviews of artists, technologist, scientists, and more.

Thanks, and enjoy the issue!

The Journal Podcast, “Dr. Rhonda Patrick”

I’m extremely honored that my first guest is Dr. Rhonda Patrick. Dr. Patrick is my go-to scientist for all things longevity, nutrigenomics (personalized nutrition), and body hacking. In this episode, you’ll learn why I’m freezing myself, the benefits of fasting, the second brain (your gut), a supplement that’s a great pain killer, and a drug that might extend life by 17%. If you’re a body hacker like me or want to learn more, give this a listen. (Audio: 52:15)

Listen now: iTunes, Web, RSS
Links from the show: FoundMyFitness, Curcumin Phytosome, Insect Antifeedants, Laser Temperature Gun (measure water temp)

The High School Coach Who Never Punts

“We started asking why about everything” ~Kevin Kelley (coach)

As a technology investor, my favorite founders are those that reimagine their domain. Coach Kelly did just that with his team. (Video: 10:57)

The Japanese Art of Self-Preservation

I love stories of extremes. People who push themselves beyond what we think to be possible. This fascinating story is about the practice of “live mummification.” These shingon monks also practiced extreme asceticism “believing that physical deprivation allowed them to see beyond the illusion of the physical world. They would meditate under icy waterfalls or walk across hot coals to practice ignoring their physical selves.”

You’ve probably seen this, if not…

There is a good chance you’ve seen this video (2:41), but I had to post it here just in case you missed it. Meet the new Atlas robot from Boston Dynamics (AKA Google; AKA Alphabet). It’s a 5’ 9”, 180-pound beast that runs on batteries. This future overlord uses sensors in its legs and body to balance, and lasers/optical sensors in its head to navigate. This video is somewhat terrifying, especially if you imagine where these will be in 10–20 years with advances in AI etc.

Gym Gear — Nike Air Zoom Odessey

I’ll never post a product I haven’t extensively tested or personally own. I picked these up a week ago and have been loving them. I was looking for a shoe that would support HIIT training (fast sprints) but with enough structure for heavy squats. ($150)

App of The Month

None. I value your time and couldn’t find anything worth posting.

Beck, Morning Phase

I haven’t listened to Beck in a few years, but for some reason decided to buy his new album “Morning Phase” on vinyl. It’s a very polished, relaxed Beck. Great for unwinding after a long day. Listen on your favorite streaming service (Amazon Prime, Spotify, Apple Music) or better yet, get it on vinyl here.

Quotes to Live By

“All cruelty springs from weakness.”
~Seneca

“The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination.”
~Einstein

I’m on Snapchat

I finally caved. I have to admit, though, it’s been a ton of fun. If you are on Snapchat you can follow me under the username “hikrose”.

Be well and send me feedback!

Kevin

To get the latest issue delivered to your inbox, once a month, sign up for the newsletter here. Also, please tap or click “♥︎” to help to promote this issue to others.

--

--

Kevin Rose
The Journal by Kevin Rose

Builder. Meditator. Husband of @summertomato, father to Zelda & Toaster.