Dear Rough Emerald and Fleeting Glance

John Brantingham
The Journal of Radical Wonder
1 min readMay 4, 2022

--

Poem and art by Cindy Rinne

Waterfalls flow through me
and my chakras open.
Messages arrive from Wind,
Stones, Trees,
and Cloud-People —

Focus! We give you energy
for friendship,
success, and peace.

I lie on the sand and birth
planets to the rhythm
of the waves. You witness
my ritual as I transmute
into the Enchantress.

You remind me to step back
from intimidation and
ground in the Earth of myself.
Encourage me to reach
for Grandfather Sun.

Clarity comes in a flood of ideas.
Dreams. My body spins
lost in a trance
as I listen to your
subconscious heart.

You ask me to pay attention
to signs and omens
while whale takes me
to the deep places
of unspoken wisdom.

--

--

John Brantingham
The Journal of Radical Wonder

Former Poet Laureate of Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks: Education. Nature. Art. Marriage. Nomading. Check out my latest books at johnbrantingham.com.