FAT JIM MORRISON

Kevin Ridgeway
The Journal of Radical Wonder
2 min readNov 3, 2023

by Kevin Ridgeway

Photograph from Unsplash

that’s what he calls me when he ambles

out onto the porch, my cigarette in one

hand, my beard in the other with an entire

galaxy of suicidal flowers hanging from

my shoulders. I growl from a Doors

song, I’ve been down so goddamn long,

five years since I was the perfect age to

die bloated and full of heroin and absinthe

in a Parisian bathtub, my fans and admirers

throwing dirty graveside celebrations that

leave them more wasted than my short

life, but I have instead lingered beyond

such a fantasy with the reality of growing

too old to be a rock star, exhausted by

a career based on amateur theatrics

whose self-destructive choreography

has left the soundtrack to my life at near

bottom of the pop charts. My new front

yard companion slaps my large gut, takes

a sip of his root beer and proceeds to tell

me a long story about how he got so high,

he woke up old with his entire life behind

him in an inglorious fog, all alone with

no memories to wash away the pain of

unwanted survival.

Originally Published in Slipstream

You can also find this poem in my first collection, which can be ordered here:

--

--

Kevin Ridgeway
The Journal of Radical Wonder

Kevin Ridgeway is a widely published poet and award-winning writer from Long Beach, CA.