HER DEAD HUSBAND’S ASHES

Kevin Ridgeway
The Journal of Radical Wonder
2 min readJan 18, 2024

by Kevin Ridgeway

Illustration by Jane Edberg

She had told me about them,

where she stored them, and

I was perfectly fine with having

him around. She had been gone

for several days before I finally

opened the drawer and pulled

out the cardboard box that I

opened and there he was, a

pile of gray sand I had heard

so much about in her colorful

stories that I got nervous as

I said hello and introduced

myself. I was lonely, and he

completely understood. He

asked me for something to

drink so I got us some beers.

We laughed and talked until

sunrise. I got emotional about

her and he cheered me up by

letting me sort through him in

search of his remaining teeth.

All was going well with us

bachelors until the day the

Neptune Society came and

took him away to be scattered

like all the other people I get

too close to.

Originally Published in Cultural Weekly

You can order my latest book here:

--

--

Kevin Ridgeway
The Journal of Radical Wonder

Kevin Ridgeway is a widely published poet and award-winning writer from Long Beach, CA.