IN WAR

John Brantingham
The Journal of Radical Wonder
2 min readMay 20, 2022

Poem by Linda S. Gunther

Photo by Linda S. Gunther, copyright 2022, all rights reserved.

There is no beauty in war
I hear the words of the heroic leader
His daily plea to fight back

​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ Citizens, defend your ground
​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ Take on lethal weapons
​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ Craft your own if necessary
​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​Just don’t give up!

It’s an eye for an eye
Without hesitation

​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ DON’T GIVE UP!

I can’t get behind it
One life to me, a universe
Unto itself
One casualty, a catastrophe
One child’s death, a tragedy
Which cannot be undone

I have no answer
No grand solution
I am unpopular
But the voices inside my head
​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ Scream
Do ANYTHING to SAVE A LIFE!
Despite losing ground
​ ​ ​​​ ​​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ ​​ ​ ​​​ ​ For now

Then gather, gather, gather
Unite, unite, unite
And take them by the crotch

Photo by Linda S. Gunter

--

--

John Brantingham
The Journal of Radical Wonder

Former Poet Laureate of Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks: Education. Nature. Art. Marriage. Nomading. Check out my latest books at johnbrantingham.com.