Sisterhood

Tiffany Elliott
The Journal of Radical Wonder
1 min readMar 25, 2024

Let’s say the sky was blue that day instead of grey. Let’s say the dark part of the moon was full and smiling. Let’s say your smile crinkled and cracked when I told a joke, and I held that joke in my hand and put it into my journal that night. Let’s say I reread that page over and over for the next week and my smile matched yours, but lumpy in bits where yours was smooth. Let’s say we tried to count the stars and only made it to fifty-seven before dissolving into giggles like the little girls we should have been. Let’s say your arms held me and mine held you, and we were sisters. Let’s say this was every day, and every night we went to sleep in lumpy blankets knit with strawberries on them by grandma. Let’s say we loved each other and turned the night into day.

--

--

Tiffany Elliott
The Journal of Radical Wonder

Tiffany Elliott's (she/her) debut book, Bones Awaiting the Blaze, was awarded the 2022 Hillary Gravendyk Prize. She is asexual, neuroatypical, and disabled.