Photo by Autumn Mott Rodeheaver on Unsplash

Remember

Vegard Ressem
The Journal of Uninteresting People
1 min readSep 9, 2019

--

— A short story

The autumn leaves hit the ground like feathers. Silent, slowly twirling to the ground. Colors of orange, yellow and red made a carpet on the ground and signified the coming of winter.

The scenery was accompanied; or, rather made full by the setting sun. A fall sunset is a magnificent thing.

As beautiful and precious as the moment was, I knew I wasn’t going to remember it. I had seen such a sunset, or one approximating it, from my front balcony many times. This thought made me a little empty. I watched as the sun was setting, and the red sky grew a little darker.

Life, I thought, is about moments like this, as well as the big ones we’ll remember. They are equally important, maybe even more so; the everyday things. A hug. A good night’s sleep. A cup of coffee and a warm shower. These things have got to make up the best in life I thought, but their memory will fade increasingly as they are repeated.

Some things you’ll remember well, some things you’ll remember too well, and some things you’ll want to remember, but can’t.

--

--

Vegard Ressem
The Journal of Uninteresting People

Went through some stuff, gained an interest in myself, and now I want to share what I’ve learned. Interested in philosophy, psychology and better living.