Reject Rection! :)

Deli :D
The Journey of Becoming
2 min readSep 25, 2021
Thanks tons, Jakayla Toney on Unsplash, for this beautiful photo!

“You’re fired!”

That’s all the e-mail said. No explanation. No feedback. No comp & ben. Nothing.

REJECT paused for a second, took a deep breath in, and read the next one.

“We’re done!”

That’s all the second e-mail said. No explanation. No details. No more. Nothing.

REJECT paused for a second, took a deep breath in, and read the next one.

“We regret to inform you…”

That’s all the third e-mail said.

“You’re a disappointment!”

“You suck!”

“I don’t like you anymore”

“You’re too fat!”

“You’re too skinny!” another one said.

REJECT found those two e-mails rejectingly funny.

“You’re pathetic and stupid and ugly!”

“Light another cigarette. Drink another rum! Think of how you used to be happy and carefree as a child.”

The last e-mail REJECT read was blank. Silence. Ignore. No words. No signature. Nothing.

He tried to breathe that one in as well, but it got stuck into a hiccup. Which, then, became a tear. Which, then, became a sob.

That was it.

He knew not to RE-ply to any of the e-mails. Instead, he wrote a short message to the EAVA, the English Action Verbs’ Association.

“TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

I, RE-Ject, Action Verb of The Century, recuse myself from the role of Sr. Repetitive Word, effective immediately.

I claim to change my name, therefore identity, from RE-Ject to the shorter and more authentic form JECT.

I was not informed of having to harbor being thrown out of any social cues, sentences or phrasees over and over and over again for as long as I lived. Because I no longer identify with the again-ness of the ject-ion, I renounce my RE and hope to build a more inclusive future.

Thank You!

TO REJECT

Sr. Repetitive Word, Action Verb of the Century”

Ding.

The sound of a reply came instantly.

“Dear Repetitive Word,

We will be OOO during this era. Therefore, expect an answer from us sometime around — never.

The EAVA.

English Action Verbs’ Association

Ject took another deep breath and wrote the last e-mail to himself.

“I don’t need an External Forum to accept my nature.

I love you completely,
Ject.”

— -

Thanks tons for reading this,

D.

P.S.: I wrote this during one of Max Stossel’s Writing Groups, Sept 25th, 2021.

--

--

Deli :D
The Journey of Becoming

Word Bender. I believe in crafting a Safe World with Words, Questions & Love. I believe in Deeper Meanings & allowing ourselves to gracefully Unfold. Together