A Few Small Words

Victoria Ascencio
The Joy Experiment
2 min readNov 14, 2017

--

What is a complement? A compliment is a “polite expression of praise or admiration. “I do not believe that there is anyone in this world who does not enjoy a good complement whether it is “I like your shirt” or “ you look really good today.” It doesn’t even have to be based on appearance it could be “I’m really proud of you” or “You have been doing really good.” something as simple as that could make someone’s day.

Today I was going around giving people complements. I didn’t just go around giving anyone any complement. All of mine were genuine and heartfelt. I told a girl in my Spanish class today, “I love your handwriting” and i bet she works really hard to make sure it looks like that. She got recognized for working harder and i think that made her happy. I also noticed that when I gave someone a compliment they would always compliment me back. This means that whether you are the person receiving or the one giving the complement both people are feeling joy. The point is try to make someone’s day better even if it is just a compliment because maybe someone was having a terrible day and you just made it better for them.

--

--