The parent’s guide to gaming with kids (Roblox Edition)

Eric
The Joy of Parenting
7 min readJan 30, 2021

--

This is a fascinating topic for me to write. I play a lot of games with my kids and it is an amazing way to connect with them. However, I also realise through my conversations with fellow parents that while many of us would like to be able to “game” with our kids, often we may not have the time or the knowhow to do this.

This is me in the game “Adopt Me”!

This is what I hope to address with this article. Is there an easier way to connect with our kids through games?

The simple answer is “Yes”. All it takes is a little effort and time to play with them. It’s one of the “quick hack” that I would recommend every parent to at least try.

Ps. as I’m writing this article, my kids are shouting out the games that they would recommend for parents to play with their kids. I’ll be sure to share those later in this article.

I’m going to be referencing Roblox in this article as this is one of the most common platforms that kids from age of 5 to 12 play. I’ve heard of kids as young as 4 already on the platform, and some are still playing it while they’re 14 or 15.

For those who are not familiar with the platform, Roblox is an online game platform and creation system that allows users to program games and play games created by other users.

--

--

Eric
The Joy of Parenting

HR Practitioner for over 20 years in IT, Pharmaceutical, Medical, and Consumer Healthcare. Currently the Head of Talent at a Consumer Healthcare Company.