The Culinary Journey of Schnitzel Across Cultures

A Story Unfolding Across Timelines

Liat Portal
The Judean People’s Front

--

Current Time.

Photo by me

Learning about new cultures is fascinating. When I’m curious about a new culture, nation, or country, my journey often begins with exploring its music and food traditions. I’m eager to hear the stories passed through generations and understand people’s lives through their food traditions. Food reflects a nation’s culture, revealing its history, values, and aspirations. It conveys a culture’s unique identity and shares the nutritional secrets that helped its people survive.

When people ask me about Israel and what it’s like, talking about our food would probably be one of the two topics I would talk about. If you follow my stories closely, you should know what the second topic is. Israel is a melting pot of Jewish communities from around the world, and this diversity is reflected in our vibrant food culture. From signature street foods to fine dining dishes, every meal tells a story of tradition, innovation, and community that traveled the world for centuries before reaching the land of Israel.

Are you curious to know what the most Israeli food is? Well, it’s not hummus, falafel, or Bourekas. In my opinion, the star of Israeli cuisine is schnitzel. Schnitzel has earned a respected place in the Israeli kitchen and…

--

--