You Don’t Look Jewish

Jeffrey Kass
The Judean People’s Front
5 min readSep 9, 2021

--

We won’t achieve true justice for anyone until Jews are included in social justice

A Jewish man praying in Jerusalem in 1925

Long before I learned the art of calm and grace, I lost my cool when my blonde, Aryan-looking German law school classmate Mark from small-town Ohio met me and immediately remarked you don’t look Jewish.

“What the fuck is that supposed to mean?” I snapped back. “Do Swedish Jews look Jewish? Do Ethiopian Jews look Jewish? What about Moroccan Jews?” I continued in disgust.

Not my finest hour.

The odd thing is, I probably do look somewhat European Jewish, although recent DNA results shared my Algerian, Moroccan, Syrian and Iraqi parts.

Reminds me of that joke when someone asks a Jewish man if he knows another Jewish guy in town.

“Why? Do all Jews have to know each other,” the insulted Jewish man responded.

“Sorry, I just thought… “

“Actually, we’re cousins.”

Mark’s comment was in 1992, but things haven’t changed much since then, at least when it comes to how people think of Jews.

The thing is, Jews aren’t a race. They are an ethnoreligious group whose members come in all shapes, colors, and sizes.

When the Jewish nation was formed some 3,000 years ago, many different people…

--

--

Jeffrey Kass
The Judean People’s Front

A Medium Top Writer on Racism, Diversity, Education, History and Parenting | Speaker | Award-Winning Author | Latest Book: Black Batwoman V. White Jesus | Dad