HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY

‘Zionism’ Has Been Made Into a Dirty Word by Woke Politics and Liars

But, like my family before me, I will always wear it proudly

Sally Prag
The Judean People’s Front
7 min readMay 13, 2024

--

An old photo from the 1957 Independence Day procession in Tel Aviv.

May 14th is Israel’s Independence Day, with 2024 marking 76 years since the birth of the state of Israel.

The photo above is from a Hebrew newspaper that was sent to my mother last year. It’s of the 1957 Independence Day procession down Rehov Allenby in Tel Aviv.

On the left and at the bottom you can see a group of people standing on a balcony overlooking the street, watching the procession. That was my family’s balcony, and the man in the centre was my Saba (grandfather in Hebrew).

It was the State of Israel’s 9th birthday. My mother was also nine at the time, soon to turn ten. She was the fifth generation born in Eretz Israel, and part of what is apparently the largest extended Jewish family in the world — the descendants of Rabbi Avraham Shlomo Zalman Zoref, a well-known figure in Jewish Israeli history, known for going to great lengths of diplomacy to enable the return of Jews to Israel from Eastern Europe, and re-establishing the Ashkenazi community in Jerusalem. He risked his life to do so; two attempts were made on his life by Arab resistance, the second of which he succumbed to in…

--

--

Sally Prag
The Judean People’s Front

Wilfully niche-less, playfully word-weaving. Rethinking life through my words. Sometimes too seriously, sometimes not seriously enough.