Not Every Day Is Sparkly and Joyous

What if we knew that that was okay and stopped beating ourselves up for having off days?

A. Elise
The Juicy Life

--

Photo by Jorien Loman on Unsplash

Yesterday was a strange day.

I remember looking out the window and seeing the sun shining through the clouds. The sun was out, somewhat, but the grass was yellow, the trees were bare, and it was 30° outside. A nice day, but not a beautiful day. Not the kind of day that beckons me outside to play.

These days happen sometimes. Usually, in the winter months, I can surround myself with some form of comfort (or at least distraction) to warm my body and lift my spirits. Yesterday was not one of those days.

Life is good, generally; I’ve got my health, my home, my partner, family, and friends. There is much to be thankful for. But yesterday was a day when life felt a little less bright and shiny than usual. Yesterday I felt blocked off from my creativity, unable to get anything done, struggling even to think clearly, much less feel motivated.

Maybe I just needed a change of scenery. Maybe I just needed to get out of the house. I haven’t been doing that a lot lately. Something inside me felt restless and in need of a little shake-up. And so instead of being productive yesterday afternoon, I got up and went on a long drive to nowhere in…

--

--