3.2.7. The Magic of Numbers

The key to your room/the key to my heart.

Jk Mansi
The Junction
1 min readAug 6, 2018

--

The Magic of Numbers, and how I wore your key. Text by JkM. Photo by Daryn Stumbaugh on Unsplash

3/27

It was the key to my prison
You hung around my neck
given as a gift, I thought
not knowing it would hold
me tight to you, not let go
no matter how I shook the bars
to the cage that held my heart.

3:27

How often I woke to that
number at night, flashing
on my clock, turning to
hold you, not letting go
holding alone to the dream
but 3/27 had long been dead
for you, while I grew old.

327

It is the number of claps
on one of these poems
a gift freely given by those
who don’t know anything
of me, other than what I
choose to share. Where
was I when you closed the
door to 3/27, a lifetime ago.

©JkMansi Juhi Kalra 2018. All rights reserved.

--

--

Jk Mansi
The Junction

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.