A day at the zoo, for free

Yana Knight
The Junction
Published in
3 min readNov 13, 2019

I tried to go to the zoo recently but the price of the ticket didn’t get me much further than the gates. Luckily, this zoo had a free part where “people like me” could still hang out and meet plenty of exotic species (including cute waiters). Very soon it became clear that I was having way more fun in this part than I would ever have done on the inside. So here comes my photo safari.

First, the human species rolled in, in tiny cages! This parade lasted for hours, with small, large, cute, fluffy, scary, aggressive, depressive, majestic, romantic, greedy, lazy, drunk, adorable representatives passing by. All I had to do was sit down comfortably and the zoo came to me. Really wanted to feed the cute one that was reaching out so desperately for food but had run out of dried bread…

The best part? They were coming from the paid part of the zoo! So all these kind creatures had actually paid so that I could see this performance. Thank you, life.

Then, more animals appeared out of nowhere. Here you see a bird and a pig. Is it because there is a McDonald’s there that they have become so enormous? Or is it normal in the Southern parts of the world?

Moving on to and around the pond. Now, that pond was a real treasure. I’m still struggling to identify all the species I saw there; perhaps those smart eagle-eyed creatures in the cable cars got a better view and can help?

This one… Swan? White dove of peace? Chicken?

Cylinder shaped and looks a bit like an empty McDonald’s strawberry milkshake cup? Must be a little baby otter!

A transparent cat with a red collar?

Ah, this is where the python is hiding! Gosh, he’s lost weight. But then if everyone is hanging out here and not paying the ticket, no wonder….

Felt sorry for this horse a bit, mainly because the music it had to listen to all day every day was so awful and the cage a bit too small, even by zoo standards…

But the one attracting the most attention was as always the elephant and tiger. Just look at them! How dignified, how god-like they appear in front of the mortal spectators. Fierce, proud, true kings of the zoo. With the zebra, predictably, a little more timid in character…

Thanks to obscene ticket prices, Lisbon zoo and all the species I met there. Freedom to the animals!!! Maybe someone should clean the pond by the way, just an idea.

If you like my stories, please feel free to support them on Patreon:

https://www.patreon.com/yanaknight

--

--