A Planet

Vishnu Deepak
The Junction
Published in
2 min readNov 27, 2019
Photo by Daniel Olah on Unsplash

Boundless beauty, my planet had seen;
Crystal castles of magnificent sheen,
With spires caressing heaven’s feet;
T’was a sight to behold; a visual treat.

Adorned with grassy meadows and sunny beaches,
I fell quite deep into its far reaches.
Made was a pact — solemn, unbreakable and true,
It was paradise under a sky forever blue.

And so was a magnificent utopia born,
Utterly free of negativity and scorn,
My tiny alcove of love, in this infinite universe;
A droplet of rhyme in an ocean of free verse.

Many a year skipped by in joy and fun,
Until the day the moon swallowed the sun.
As a veil of jealousy shrouded my world,
With tremors of doubt, my planet unfurled.

Photo by Jan Haerer on Unsplash

My planet was cold, my planet was warm,
The next day, a brewing thunderstorm.
A million shattered pieces of glass,
Painted bloody crimson the fields of grass.

My planet was toxic, the very air was choking,
A river of tears, it was now slowly soaking.
The ground grew warm and then it was ablaze,
At the crumbling remnants of Eden I was agaze.

Petrified I stood, conditioned to hope,
But this hell on Earth, I could no longer cope,
Snapping into action, to my spacecraft I raced,
Slicing through orbit, with impossible haste.

I journeyed across the stars,
Across this expanse of ours,

Through endless emptiness and silence,
As I escaped a world of violence.

--

--