A Surah for Sinners

Thando Shabalala
The Junction
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2019
Photo by T Foz on Unsplash

la illaha illa Allah
it rolls off the tongue
like melodies as the adrenaline rush
rises up your spine
as you kneel in a show of subjugation
liberation
from the worries of the world
concerning yourself with an afterlife
that could just be a rinse, repeat of this life

subhanallah
praise praise praise
the Lord for what he has given you
the pang of existence
blood rushing to your head as you supplicate

Abdullah is a name
servant
slave?
to a power I simply cannot comprehend
one I question all the time
yet that spark continues to glow
even as the embers of a flame die out

but I want to be Thando
is it love if it’s not for Him
or does all love travel upstream
through the Nile
and past the valleys of the moon to Him
even when I’m told he’s all around me

alhamdulillah
a word
a word
a sentence
an expression of grace
a refusal to be swayed by evil

Allahu akbar
Muhammad Ali claimed to be the greatest
was he wrong?
can I not be the greatest at being me
if all I am is an affront to His wisdom

Thando Thando Thando
but all I feel is disapproval
hate
maybe I’ve lost something in translation

--

--