Aniwula

A night with a strange beauty

ezer agyin
The Junction
4 min readApr 10, 2018

--

Image from Pinterest

I sat in the barbershop dozing off as the blade massaged trickles of sensation onto my scalp. It had been a long day. But my weekly haircut ritual couldn’t wait. Eyes heavy as the accent of the Dagomba’s screaming through the meaningless hip life music roaring out of the low pitched speakers.

I reluctantly opened my eyes. It was the voice of a lady. Loud enough to send shivers down the spine of a ghost much more a slumbering man.

Her reflection was staring straight at me. It must have missed her own image standing left to me. I looked away seeking the cordial respect from her eyes. This little intruder had no intention to dialogue respect. She stared on. I closed my eyes.

Aniwula'

There goes the familiar voice.

Aniwula'

I opened my eyes. She leaned in right in front of me in greeting. Smiling mischievously like an investigator throwing her strongest piece of evidence at a suspect. Am I to confess that I’m a foreigner now, drama queen?

'Naa'

I responded. Hoping she bugs off this time. She fills in the empty seat next to me. I could feel her eyes singeing my cheeks on my left. I slumbered on as her voice exchanged heavy echoes with the barbers.

I opened my eyes to the waning echoes, looked to the sides of the long mirror and closed them again in relief. Drama queen was gone.

The barber dusted off the hair from my shirt. I paid him and stepped out. I plugged my earpiece into my ears and started a little jazz club in my head. I heard shouts in the background. Turned to see an image running towards me. Drama queen?

I took off my earpiece and the familiar tympanic punches began.

You know I can’t understand you right?

I tried to burst her bubble back into reality but she kept laughing on with no intention to stop talking. I laughed back at the empty statements she made. By the time I came back to reality we were taking a stroll home chatting in foreign languages and laughing at each other or ourselves. It was beautifully awkward. I kept repeating I don’t understand but she made no effort to stop talking.

Our shadows started shrinking as we approached the street light in the dark. That’s when I turned to take a closer look at her. Her beauty was her face, streamlined with carefully placed eyes, nose and mouth. Her lips were African; meaty and symmetrically parted to show her carefully planted dentition. In her eyes, her laughter was genuine. She held her own hands playfully. Whatever I was doing was making her night a memory so I decided to let go my defenses and sink in the moment with her. Her long dress was gathering dust at her feet as she dramatically jumped up and down in laughter of what my demeanor was inducing.

We walked a bit more closer to my house. I tried to tell her I appreciate the walk but I’m almost home and I can walk her back, but she wouldn’t hear or couldn’t hear. I tried signs but it only made her laugh harder.

We got to my gate and she entered the compound with me. My calm left my face with my smile. Now I really wanted her to go back. I knew nothing about her. She could be anybody… I stood in protest not to go again. She smiled at me and after a few more sentences gave me her phone.

I figured that was the deal she’ll offer for letting me be. So I typed in my MTN number which I give to people who pester me for my number. She called to make sure it’s my line. She smiled and started walking to the gate. Her spirits lowered now. I decided to walk her back but she started to run off with a bye when she got out of the gate. Guilt flooded me. She probably just wanted to be friends.

I lay on my bed that night thinking of how strange my day ended. I felt concerned if she arrived home safe and if she still had a smile on. I picked up my phone and called her. She responded at the second beep happily throwing around her accent.

Shhhh!

I hushed her over the phone, something she clearly understood.

I just wanted to say thank you for today, thank you for making me laugh over nothing and thank you for walking me home. I wish I can have that everyday. And I just want you to know you’re the most beautiful person I’ve seen around here. Even though I don’t know your name I trust were friends now.

The other side of the phone stayed quiet so I said hello and she responded back.

Anyway just wanted to know you’re safe home. And thanks for tonight. Goodnight queen!

There was a pause for a minute, then she said something short this time in a calm voice. I just felt it was time to hang up, so I did.

I saved her number as Aniwula, the only thing she said to me that I understood. It means Good Evening.

--

--

ezer agyin
The Junction

I live under the spell of the third house. Possessed, and cannot be saved.