As The Poet Asked Me to Feel

Abhishek Negi
The Junction
Published in
1 min readMar 7, 2019
Photo by Jerry Wang on Unsplash

As I strolled over the pavement
Feeling the unbudging earth beneath my heels,
The sun flicked the insensate skin
Through the edges of the innocent leaves.

To make me remember the words
That a poet uttered gentle and lush,
That you must feel
That slips the common flesh.

From the wind to the sky awash,
From the dawn to the red moon,
From the rustle to the thunder jolt,
From the mud to the flower bloom.

And I took a book leaf
Against that perching on the tree,
Unintent, breathing the air of history and dawn
Disentangled, dismantled and shuddering free.

The whisper it uttered
The fleeting flows it bestowed,
My transcendence wished to be there
Until the flickering flame lays low.

--

--

Abhishek Negi
The Junction

Just a human trying to figure things out in this mess called life.