At the Movies

Jk Mansi
The Junction
Published in
2 min readAug 8, 2018

Satyam Shivam Sundaram

At the Movies. Text by JkM. Photo of Zeenat Aman from open source.

Watching Raj Kapoor disrobing Zeenat Aman for this role,
singing in the rain in a diaphanous white saree with no clothes
underneath, his paean to female beauty innocence and carnal
awakening, but really taking his power to new lows
forty years before the #MeToo movement arose…

Sitting in a darkened University theater in Ann Arbor
rented by some Indian student organization to screen it,
I don’t know how they got it, pirated it I think now in retrospect,
in the year of it’s release, Nineteen Seventy Eight.
I sat contained between you and Kumar, your erections on display.

We went back to our apartment, you couldn’t wait for night
I always thought your lust was a compliment to my pink delight
you banged me before dinner as Arcy and Kumar stayed
waiting for you to be done, so I could set out dinner plates
The first year of my marriage, what memories arise…

I was not yet twenty five.

She was not really a person to her director, and I was not really a person to you.

Of those who read here, Farida Indira Svani Jhilmil Kalpesh Mange, a little bit of India. For Joan, because she doesn’t want to miss anything!

©JkMansi Juhi Kalra 2018. All rights reserved.

--

--

Jk Mansi
The Junction

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.