Conversation with My Wife (124)

What do you get for the woman who has everything practical already? Plus a tiara. Funny you ask…

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
2 min readJan 24, 2019

--

It’s basically Stuart James’ fault. He made a suggestion to an earlier Conversation…

…that gave me the means and opportunity (I supplied the motive) to get a real(ish) English title for my wife:

And what else do you get the woman who may not have everything, but tends to get things for herself when she needs them?

Oh, and she already had the tiara. She bought it when she did a Purim play. (No, we’re not Jewish. It’s a long story. Maybe later.)

So anyway, I invest £24.95 (which is cheaper than it used to be, thanks to Brexit) and have a wonderful packet to give my wife for Christmas.

ME: You don’t have to get me anything for Christmas!

DEB: Correct. Because we’re not getting each other anything for Christmas. As we agreed months ago, as I recall.

ME: (we did? really?) We did? Really?

DEB: What did you do?

ME: It’s more of a gag gift…

DEB: WHAT DID YOU DO?!

ME: It’s very low cost. With the exchange rate, and all.

DEB: WHY IS THERE AN EXCHANGE RATE INVOLVED?

ME: (small voice) It’s a gag gift?

Note to self — “no gifts” is actually more of a Rule than a guideline, it turns out. Especially when the other party is not clued in until a week or two before the event. And feels she has to dash out for last-minute shopping during her lunch hour, at a time when she was sure she was finished with shopping.

Anyway, she likes it.

Lady Debra says Thanks, Stuart!

Copyright ©2019 by Jack Herlocker. All rights reserved, and trust me, you do NOT want to upset Lady Debra!

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.