Focus on your breath… or, if you’re the camera, would it be too much to ask you to FOCUS ON THE STUPID WATCH?

Conversation with My Wife (141)

Ohmmm… ohmmm… I need to weed outside of our ‘ome…

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2019

--

We have this wordless communication system, as I suspect most couples do. If we’re doing individual things together (again, most couples will know what I mean, right?) and we find, read, or see something interesting, we make little noises. A chuckle/snort for something funny. A “hmmm?” sound for something interesting. A “WTF?” sound¹ for WTF? Then if the other one is at a break or distraction point, they make a “mmm-hmm?” sound back to ask for more information.

So we’re sitting in our back porch (our heartspace) reading, and my Apple Watch taps me on the wrist to remind me to engage in mindful breathing. So I do, and when I finish I give a little chuckle/snort.

DEB: Mmm-hmm?

ME: So my watch just asked me to do a mindfulness exercise. So I’m thinking about my breath. In and out. And then how proud Ann Litts would be of me for being mindful. And Gail Boenning, because she also gives suggestions on that kind of thing. But thinking of Gail reminded me of her stories with Henrietta, their new puppy, and how rambunctious she gets, which reminded me of when Maggie visited. And so by the time the watch gives me that “Good boy!” chime to let me know the exercise is over, I have no freakin’ clue what my breath is doing.

DEB: Poor honey! We’re just not good at this sort of thing, are we?

True, but we have company. Kathy Jacobs already put my dilemma into verse (it’s a Kathy thing, she does that).

And with people like Karen DeBonis trying to help, shouldn’t this be easier? Oh wait — I’d have to read Karen’s suggestions, watch her relaxation video, and then actually follow her advice. Okay, well, maybe this weekend? Alright, let me add that to the ToDo list…

¹No, I’m not going to try to transcribe that.

Copyright ©2109 by Jack Herlocker. All rights reserved, including the right to make phony fart noises while you’re trying to meditate. Okay, they may not ALL be phony noises. 😈

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.