Conversation with My Wife (153)

After twenty years of marriage, there are no surprises… HA!

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
2 min readMar 11, 2020

--

We were coming off a walk around the neighborhood and local park, and as we get to the front door Deb said something funny.

ME: Aw! Thank you, honey! Even after twenty years of marriage, you still make me laugh!

DEB: Or! (she goes into a twitchy upper body spasm with a strange rictus/grin on her face)

ME: (this is new behavior) What?

DEB: That’s you. When you laugh. When you do that silent laugh thing you do in bed or when we’re curled up on the couch. Your body shakes, but I can’t hear anything.

ME: No, I— okay, yes, but— wait, I have been doing that for years! So now you decide to make fun of this?

DEB: (look of intense sincerity on her face) I was not making fun of you, Jackster. (then proceeds to do her best Saint Vitus Dance impression)

Later we’re watching television.¹ Deb laughs out loud at something, looks over at me, and then does her best imitation of what happens when someone drops the plugged-in toaster into the kiddie pool in which she’s standing.

DEB: Sorry, honey. Didn’t want you to feel left out. (grins)

Then later we’re trading emails and I start one of mine with “Lol!” I then add a postscript:

ME: I guess that should have been <shaking silently with laughter> instead of <laughing out loud>, eh?²

DEB: SSWL :-)

So there you go! Twenty years of marriage, and we³ can STILL bring strange quirks to the relationship! How cool is that, eh?

¹Lucifer, on Netflix. For a show that basically says, “The Devil, he’s not such a bad guy, once you get to know him!”, my preacher’s kid wife and I sure do enjoy it.

²In my genealogical searches I’ve found that my Irish ancestors spent a couple generations in Canada before coming south to Chicago. So I feel I can throw in an occasional “eh?” without fear of cultural appropriation.

³Note that I am not assigning ownership to the strange quirk. For anyone keeping track. Probably Cook, because she’s good at that kind of thing. 😉

Copyright ©2020 by Jack Herlocker. All rights reserved, including the option to silently laugh at you so hard that you think you need to get a spoon under my tongue.

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.