Conversation with My Wife (29)

Who ya gonna call? Stashbusters!

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
2 min readMar 9, 2017

--

The stashbuster, under construction, using a {mumble} stitch in a {mumble} pattern. It’s on the web, of course. I’d link to it, but I don’t want to be accused of encouraging this sort of behavior. It’s going to end up being… okay, maybe I wasn’t actually paying attention to every little single part of the whole conversation.

Sitting on the couch after dinner, Deb crocheting.

DEB: “I am working on a stashbuster.”

ME: “I know!” <really didn’t*> “That is so nice… that’s a stitch, right?”

DEB: “No. It’s a project where you use up your spare yarn. You see my problem?”

ME: <really don’t> “Not the right color yarn.”

DEB: “No.”

ME: “Not the right, um, density, weight… thingie.”

DEB: “No. You’re not going to get it.” <what else is new?> “I have no spare yarn!” <this said next to a huge bag full of recently purchased yarn>

ME: “Okay… so this stuff is…?”

DEB: “New yarn! I got this on sale! With a coupon! And I used my senior discount!”

ME: “Did you get carded?”

DEB: “No, the cashier just asked if I was over 60.” <I don’t get carded. Or asked. I just get my over-60 discount automatically. Which would be great, were I over 60. Not that I’m bitter.**> “But now I have enough for my stashbuster project. More than enough. I’ll have extra yarn!”

ME: “From your project to use up extra yarn. That you had to go buy.”

DEB: “Exactly! I love my new hobby!”

*Not a lie when it’s supportive. “That dress/suit/coat/swimsuit makes you look great” = SO not a lie. Ask any spouse. Ask any best friend!

**Little teeny bit bitter.

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.