Conversation with My Wife (45)

It was a quiet day, a happy day, and then… the truth was found out

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
2 min readJun 12, 2017

--

DEB: Honey, I just checked… I never suspected… oh no!

My wife and I are taking our first real vacation since Deb’s mom died last year. We’re staying in a nice Holiday Inn Express in Poughkeepsie, New York, while we visit spots around the Hudson River Valley. HIEs are good hotels, right? Perfectly safe.

So we thought.

DEB: (a look of shock on her face) The coffee! I’ve been drinking it all morning! I never… I never checked…

The room has one of those K-cup coffee makers. We don’t have one at home and we’re easily amused, so we were going on a serial coffee binge. Plus the one they had in the room makes a standard cup, which is like, what, three standard sips and a swallow? So we were going through a LOT of coffee.

DEB: (voice rising, with hints of fear and despair) The cup! The date on the bottom! It’s… EXPIRED! (shrieking in terror) I’ve been drinking from an expired paper cup! (shows me the expired date on the bottom of the coffee cup)

Or possibly it was a lot number. Hard to say with these things.

ME: Yes, dear. Love you! Mean it!

DEB: (laughing) Do you wish you married someone normal?

ME: No, honey, I’d much rather be married to you!

Okay, that previous conversation where I pushed the benefits of an acting background? I might be rethinking that.

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.