Conversation with My Wife (79)

Talk to the thumb

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
2 min readJan 11, 2018

--

Credit: Pixabay

Drives home together sometimes feel like the end of a very long day. It’s nice to sit next to my wife and share the days we’ve had. Once we get on Route 30 West, traffic is usually not a problem, so I can put the car on cruise (I almost always drive) and hold Deb’s hand with my right hand. Then it’s just a matter of keeping the dashed line on one side and the solid line on the other. Some parts of the roadway are noisier than the others, however, like when we cross the bridge over the Susquehanna River.

And suddenly the radio comes on while Deb is talking.

DEB: — to him. What’s up, honey?

ME: (flustered) Uh, nothing, honey! (radio goes quiet) Sorry, you were saying?

DEB: Is something wrong with the radio?

ME: Uhhh…

I should mention that I always leave the car radio on. I have control of the volume and channels on the steering wheel, so if I leave the radio on, I can bring up the volume or switch to another station or the CD player or whatever with my left thumb. And it’s very nice being able to adjust the volume when road noise gets louder. Like on a bridge. Like the one we were just crossing.

ME: I, um, couldn’t quite hear you. Before the radio came on.

DEB: I’m sorry, Jackster, I’ll speak up. But the radio…?

ME: My left thumb turned up the volume. So it could hear you better.

Pause.

DEB: So, do you want me to speak into your right ear, or your left thumb?

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.