Conversation with My Wife (81)

Normal would be boring. This does not seem to be a problem with us, so far.

Jack Herlocker
The Junction
2 min readJan 28, 2018

--

Our room (“Jophiel Room”) at the Hollinger House B&B. We have stayed at a bed & breakfast for every anniversary since our first, except for #10 when we went on a cruise (and #20 when we plan to do the same). For #1, this was because we had a B&B coupon for our wedding that was due to expire in one year; for #2, it had worked out well the year before, and after that it was just “our custom.” Our worst experience we would rate as “very nice,” and most (like this past weekend) were wonderful.

We did a pre-anniversary weekend outing, because on our actual anniversary weekend we’re having Family Christmas,* so we stayed at a romantic bed & breakfast** in Lancaster, PA. We had just woken up and started our morning snuggle routine, lying on our sides facing each other, sharing the same pillow for support.

I reach up my hand to stroke the side of Deb’s head and run my fingers through her hair.

ME: I still can’t believe how wonderful you are! How happy you make me! How patient and loving and —

At this point, she is silently laughing to the point the bed is shaking. I give her a look of WTF and she gently moves my hand from the side of her head.

DEB: Honey, my good ear is buried in the pillow, so you are talking to me while you keep covering up my other ear, and all I get is, “You are wonrah-raw-rawr make me rawr-rawr-rawr lovirah-raw-rawr.”

ME: Okay, I um… (Nope, lost the moment.) You, ahhhh…

DEB: See, this is why we ask each other, “Do you wish you married someone normal?” And we always answer, “No, I’d rather be married to you!” Because we aren’t normal, and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

ME: Normal would be boring, honey. Normal wouldn’t love me like you do.

DEB: You may not be perfect, Jackster, but you’re perfect for me! (rubs the side of her head) Can you hear that? I have really loud hair! How have I never noticed that before?

Normal would be boring.

*Or as I think of it now, Normal Christmas. Yes, February is a tad late for Christmas, but with grown kids now scattered all over the northeast… <sigh>

**Wonderful B&B, by the way, if you ever stay in the Lancaster area:

If you book there, tell Brandy & Ted that Deb & Jack said Hi. It won’t get you a discount or anything, but innkeepers like knowing previous guests recommend a place.

--

--

Jack Herlocker
The Junction

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.