Cruise Ship

emma poe
The Junction

--

I was always sick when I was small
Bound to my bed by every passing bug
Mama read me Robert Louis Stevenson
As I perched on the mast of my mattress boat

There was enough room for my favorite friends
Who fought ferociously to be my very first mate
You can’t,” I softly told Tigger , too much springing
Calm, gentle mouse was put in the coveted position

I remember when we met,my bed became a dinghy
All throw pillows and non essentials tossed overboard
The bumps and motion made the boat slam and clatter
The rip-roaring ride making me hold on for dear life

When baby time was at hand, you had no hesitation
Go big or go home you said holding my swollen stomach
As they delivered a monstrosity of a mattress, fit for a king
I prayed we wouldn’t go poor paying for 1,000 count sheets

So much room for sex, you once spoke softly in my ear
I remember that whisper as I wonder where you are now
Perhaps you‘re on the lido deck or headed up to a show
I spy your hand, out of reach, lost to me in this ship of dreams

--

--

emma poe
The Junction

“Got a mind full of questions and a teacher in my soul.” Eddie Vedder